Singapore is located in Southeast Asia off the southern tip of the Malay Peninsula, only 137 km north of the equator (710 km˛ - 5.1 million inhabitants). An island country made up of 63 islands, it is separated from Malaysia by the Straits of Johor to its north and from Indonesia's Riau Islands by the Singapore Strait to its south. There are two man-made connections to Johor, Malaysia: the Johor–Singapore Causeway in the north, and the Tuas Second Link in the west. There are ongoing land reclamation projects, which have increased its land area from 581.5 km2 in the 1960s to 710 km2 today; it may grow by another 100 km2 by 2030. The Capital is Singapore.


Singapore Island

Sentosa Island




Last Revision Thursday, 07 January 2016