Appenzell Ausserhoden

Appenzell is a region in the northeast of Switzerland, entirely surrounded by the Canton of St. Gallen. A former canton of the old Swiss Confederacy, Appenzell has been divided, for religious reasons, into two half-cantons, since 1597 into Appenzell Innerrhoden (Capital City is Appenzell-173 km2 -15,000 inhabitants-Catholic) and Appenzell Ausserrhoden (Capital City is Herisau-242 km2 -54,000 inhabitants-Protestant).



Last Revision Friday, 08 January 2016